Neil M. Bressler

Neil M. Bressler, M.D., graduated from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1982 and completed an ophthalmology residency at Harvard Medical School's Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary in 1986. He joined the Wilmer Eye Institute (Department of Ophthalmology) faculty at Johns Hopkins in 1988, where he currently is Chief of the Retina Division and the inaugural James P. Gills Professor of Ophthalmology. With more than 15 full-time clinical faculty, the Retina Division serves the Johns Hopkins Hospital and an additional 5 satellite clinics, dedicated to basic, translational, and clinical research in conjunction with clinical care and education revolving around the prevention and treatment of retinal diseases.

Dr. Bressler's main research interests have been collaborative efforts in clinical trials of common retinal diseases, including age-related macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy. He has chaired several NIH-sponsored and industry-sponsored multicenter randomized clinical trials and authored more than 300 peer-reviewed publications. Most recently, he served as Chair of the NIH-sponsored Diabetic Retinopathy Clinical Research Network for 7 years and currently is in his second year serving in the role of Past Network Chair, responsible for guidelines, policies, protocol development as well as implementation of network operations in a way that maintains academic integrity and optimal clinical trial performance. He also currently chairs the National Eye Institute's Data and Safety Monitoring Committee for intramural clinical trials, is a member and has been Chair of the FDA Ophthalmic Devices Panel, and at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine has served as Chair of the Committee on Outside Interests (including conflicts of interest) for 6 years and currently is Chair of the Continuing Medical Education Advisory Board.

Since July 2013, Dr. Bressler has been Editor-in-Chief of JAMA Ophthalmology, one of the leading peer-reviewed ophthalmic journals in the world. He has won numerous awards in ophthalmology, including the Macula Society's J. Donald M. Gass Medal, the Society of Heed Fellows Award, the American Society of Retina Specialists Gertrude Pyron Award, the American Academy of Ophthalmology's Secretariat Award, a Gold Fellow in ARVO, and a Senior Scientific Investigator Award from Research to Prevent Blindness. He was elected as President of the Macula Society from 2013 and 2014, one of three major retina societies in the U.S. Outside of medicine, as the Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Interlochen Center for the Arts, he also shares responsibility for an entity which engages and inspires people worldwide through excellence in educational, artistic and cultural programs in the arts.